The CAA may award an Honorary Life Memberships to individuals who do not otherwise qualify for membership in the CAA. Honorary Life Members are non-alumni not otherwise eligible for membership who have rendered unusual and conspicuous service to The Citadel and The CAA.

Upon motion by any Member or Associate Member to the Executive Committee, or upon its own motion, the Executive Committee may nominate a person to the Board for recognition as an Honorary Member together with the written reasons for such nomination. The board must approve the nomination by two-thirds (2/3) vote of its Members.

The nominees for Honorary Life Member should demonstrate the following criteria:

  1. Be a person of such integrity, stature, demonstrated ability and distinction that the faculty, staff, students and alumni of The Citadel and The CAA will take pride in, and be inspired by, his or her recognition of honorary membership in The CAA;
  2. Have demonstrated a continuing interest in and/or devotion to The Citadel, The CAA, and in their community and must have contributed time, talent or philanthropic support to one or more programs to benefit The Citadel and The CAA; and
  3. Be an individual who, in deed or action, reflects and recognizes and exemplifies The Citadel and its Core Values of Honor, Duty, and Respect in their private and professional life and whose interest and loyalty are evident to The Citadel and The CAA.

Nominations for this award shall include detailed and specific information on each of the above criteria.

This award is presented to recipients at an event held by The CAA during Homecoming Week and recognized in the Alumni News.

RecipientYear Presented
Charles P. Summerall1940
Clark Williams1941
Theodore L. Futch1950
Louis S. LeTellier1951
James F. Byrnes1956
Mark W. Clark1958
Hugh P. Harris1968
Dennis D. Nicholson, Jr.1986
Roddey Dowd, Sr.2000
Sidney R. Crumpton2001
John S. Grinalds2003
Daniel K. Inouye2004
Mark A. Bebensee2005
Les Robinson2006
Harrison S. Carter2007
Curtice E. Holland2008
Barbara J. Fairfax2009
Dennis J. Fallon2011
W. Earl Walker2012
William A. “Andy” Clawson2013
Susan W. Redmond2019
Pamela Barton2021
Teresa M. Luhrs2023