The Arland D. Williams Society recognizes inductees who are a living or deceased graduates of The Citadel from any of the degree conferring programs at the college. Only individuals may be nominated; groups, entities, or programs are not eligible.

Nominees must have made significant contributions while acting in the noblest, bravest, and laudable manner while placing the well-being of others before themselves. Acts may be cumulative or singular but must have been directed towards the betterment of others and be significant in nature with tangible results. Induction into the society is intended primarily for graduates operating in a civilian capacity above and beyond work or volunteer expectations, though military personnel whose actions reflect the criteria and do not qualify for existing military awards may be considered.


E.B. Peebles Jr., 1939 
Benjamin F. Webster III, 1957 
John Childress, 1970 
Mitchell Foster, 1965 
Alvah H. Chapman, 1942 
Bradley J. Snyder, 1962 
Benjamin B. Waters, 1972 
Thomas Slawson Jr., 1980 
Jules W. Riley, 1972 
Joseph D. Shine, 1971 
Frank E. Gibson II, 1969 
Joseph O. Lax Jr., 1953 
Craig F. Tscherne, 1994 
Paul Gonzales, 1976 
Jack Knox, 1953 
William “Cal” McCombs, 1967 
Travis B. Fortson, 1997 
Brian Brennan, 2006
Thomas Blackwell, 1981
Abigail Webber Zuehlke, 2003
Alex DeSeta, 2007
Thomas Hall, 1989
David Goff, 1978